

February 6, 2023

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg, Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg,

We submit to you the following letter in strong support of the Maine Department of Transportation (MaineDOT) and the Maine Department of Marine Resources (DMR) applications for funding through the USDOT FY2022 Culvert Aquatic Organism Passage (AOP) Program.

The funding assistance that MaineDOT and Maine DMR are requesting through USDOT will assist with the replacement of twenty-three road stream culverts in fifteen communities located over three strategic locations in Maine. These locations in Central, Downeast, and the Sandy River area of Western Maine all include municipalities that we represent in the Maine State Legislature.

The culverts identified for replacement through this project are undersized and impact the passage of native migratory fish and cause ongoing maintenance and repair problems for our local communities. These projects will significantly contribute to the habitat available for endangered anadromous fish species and their prey. The replacement of these twenty-three culverts will restore access to approximately forty-four total miles of habitat for the fish species native to each area, including the state and federally endangered Atlantic Salmon.

We are very pleased that MaineDOT and Maine DMR have partnered together on this effort and made these culverts a priority. We urge you to give their applications full consideration for funding.

Sincerely,

Russell Black State Senator

Lussell Rus

Craig V. Hickman State Senator Lisa M. Keim

Lisa M. Keim State Senator

Marianne Moore

State Senator

Cameron D. Reny State Senator

Richard T. Bradstreet State Representative

Brobsten

Kenneth Ralph Davis JR.

Kenneth R. Davis State Representative

Alison Hepler

State Representative

Michael H. Lemelin State Representative

Edward J. Polewarczyk State Representative

Edward J. Calewareysl

Peter A I wford

Peter A. Lyford State Senator

Matthew Pouliot
State Senator

Eloise A. Vitelli State Senator

Lydia V. Crafts State Representative

Sydi Crfs

Randall C. Hall State Representative

Rall C. Hall

Scott Landry State Representative

Colleen M. Madigan State Representative

Collon M. Madizan

Ronald B. Russell State Representative